How to Mend a Broken Heart by Anna Mansell


book coverHow to Mend a Broken Heart
 by Anna Mansell
Published by Bookouture on March 1st, 2017
Genres: Adult Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Chick-Lit
Pages: 289
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads


A compelling, heartbreaking tale that will make you laugh, cry and believe in the kindness of strangers. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Dillon and Miranda Dickinson.

Life is good for nurse Kat. That is until the man she intended to marry legs it, she’s unexpectedly promoted to a position with too much responsibility, and a patient arrives on her ward under strange circumstances.

Susan is a mystery. She refuses to speak or interact with anyone, she’s obsessed with a book of fairy tales, and the only name in her diary is that of Rhys – a plumber she barely knows.

Down-to-earth Rhys is trying to get his life back on track after the death of his beloved brother. His mum is his priority, and she needs him as much as he needs her. Or at least she did, until she starts disappearing, leaving him to find comfort in the form of his brother’s girlfriend.

Complicated is an understatement.

As the lives of these three lost strangers intertwine, will they find a way to lay ghosts past, present and future to rest? And when the chance comes to mend their broken hearts, will they be brave enough to take it?


REVIEW

This book was an extremely slow read for me. It wasn’t that I didn’t like the characters, but they just didn’t make me care as quickly as I usually like to. The beginning was extremely slow for me and I found myself sort of irritated with that. I kept waiting for something to happen, to move me, but I was a third of the way through the book still feeling like I was missing something.

However, throughout the book I began to care for the characters for and more and wanted nothing more than to see the all heal. I could relate to both Kat and Rhys, and though I couldn’t relate to Susan entirely I still felt her pain. I began rooting for them nearly halfway through the book and never looked back.

This book covers a lot of sensitive subjects and really makes you take a look at your own life and that’s one of its greatest strengths. One of its largest flaws, however, is that many of the chapters were very daunting to read because they were almost too descriptive and too drawn out for me to stay fully immersed in the story.

All in all, a good read, but really needed some help in how fast the story progressed.

3

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s